News

Second Harvest Providing Holiday Food Distribution

Santa is expected to make an appearance

National Guard members help distribute food for Second Harvest Food Bank. FILE PHOTO: TARMO HANNULA

On Wednesday, Dec. 23, Second Harvest Food Bank will host its weekly community drive-thru food distribution at the County Fairgrounds, at 2601 East Lake Ave. in Watsonville, from 9am–1pm.

“This is a departure from our normal Friday distribution so that individuals and families in our community have access to the nutritious food they need for Christmas,” said Second Harvest CEO Willy Elliott-McCrae.

There will not be a distribution on Friday, Dec. 25, or Friday, Jan. 1. 

Community members attending the Wednesday drive-thru distribution can look forward to receiving fresh produce, pantry items and frozen meats, such as chicken or pork.  

“We have a fantastic selection of foods right now, thanks to funds from FEMA and our generous community,”  said Second Harvest Chief Development Officer Suzanne Willis. “Additionally, we expect to see Santa at this distribution.” 

This is also an opportunity for Second Harvest staff to do some team building at the distribution, so the office in Watsonville will be closed on Wednesday while staff are working together at the fairgrounds. 

The organization asks community members to not arrive before 9am, so they have time to fully set up.

Regular weekly distributions moving between the Santa Cruz Beach Boardwalk and the fairgrounds will begin again in January. 

This is a drive-thru distribution for residents of Santa Cruz County. If you need food assistance and live in San Benito County, call 831-637-0340. For food assistance in Monterey County, call 831-758-1523. 

To learn about other food distribution sites throughout the county, visit thefoodbank.org/find-foodcomida or call the community food hotline at 831-662-0991. 


Calendar of upcoming drive-thru food distributions

Each food distribution will take place from 9am–1pm.

Santa Cruz County Fairgrounds:

  • Wednesday, Dec. 23
  • Friday, Jan. 8
  • Friday, Jan. 22
  • Friday, Feb. 5
  • Friday, Feb. 19
  • Friday, March 5
  • Friday, March 19

Santa Cruz Beach Boardwalk:

  • Friday, Jan. 15
  • Friday, Jan. 29
  • Friday, Feb. 12
  • Friday, Feb. 26
  • Friday, March 12
  • Friday, March 26
Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Are you an earthling? Prove it with logic: *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

To Top